Dealing With a DUI
Driving drunk is a serious offense for several important reasons. Here in Florida, and in most states, a driver considered to be deprived of all normal faculties is to be considered under the influence. Without normal faculties such as observation, perception, and reaction you pose a life-threatening risk to yourself and others. In recent years, Florida lawmakers have begun cracking down, issuing great punishments and penalties for driving under the influence. If you have been arrested for a DUI charge and need assistance with a DUI bail in Clearwater, FL, contact James Brennan Bail Bonds. We provide 24-hour service for our clients. Call (727) 531-5000 or more information.
What is a DUI and Can You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test?
A DUI, driving under the influence, is a charge against drivers that are caught driving under the influence of alcohol. When stopped, if a driver is suspected of being drunk, they will be asked to participate in a breathalyzer test. If your BAC, blood alcohol content, is less than .07% then you may get off with a warning, but anything higher than .08% will result in an arrest and charge.
Being charged with a DUI is a very serious offense. In the state of Florida, that charge will never leave your record. It will remain there for 75 years, affecting background checks, insurance premiums, and more. If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI and need bail services, contact James Brennan Bail Bonds. We can help if you or someone you know is in need of bail for a DUI or even for a theft charge bail. The only time we can’t help you is when there is a DUI without bail. Our goal and our services are to provide you a chance to get back on your feet so you can better defend yourself in court. We are in no position to judge you or condemn you for your actions. We just want to make sure you have a fair chance in court.
Many want to know, can you refuse a breathalyzer? The test is voluntarily, but there are serious consequences for refusal. In Florida, refusing to take the test will result in a mandatory license suspension. If you have any previous suspensions on your license, then you run the risk of facing misdemeanor charges on top of the suspension. We highly recommend taking the breathalyzer test.
Bail for a DUI Charge?
If you are stopped for driving drunk and your BAC is .08% or higher, then you can be arrested, jailed, and charged in the courts. How much is DUI bail? In Florida, your penalty for driving drunk can get all the way up to $1,000. If it is your first offense and you are only being charged for drunk driving, and nothing else, then your fine may only be around $500. For help with bail, call James Brennan Bail Bonds. We ask for a small percentage to help get you out of jail. Once that is paid, we can help you with the rest.
It is important to note that these amounts and charges can change drastically if you are charged with another DUI while on bail for a current DUI charge. At that point, the state could view you as a threat to public safety and increase your jail time from 6 months to several years. We’ve said it once already, but DUI charges are serious offenses that need to be taken seriously.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What happens when you get a DUI for the first time? – You will be asked to take a breathalyzer test, arrested, processed, and jailed. Then a court hearing will be scheduled, for which you need to be present, where a conviction will be settled. During the hearing is when you’ll learn if your license will be suspended, what you owe in penalties, and more.
- How long do you have to stay in jail for a DUI? – Jail time for a first offence is usually no more than 6 months, if your BAC is between .08% and .14%. If your BAC is .15% or higher, then jail time increases to nine months.
- Do you always lose your license after a DUI? – In Florida, you will lose your license due to a DUI if your BAC is .08% or higher. Your license may not be suspended or revoked if your BAC is lower than that, but every circumstance is different.
- What happens if you refuse a DUI test? – Refusing to take a breathalyzer test in Florida will result in a mandatory license suspension. You will also automatically be arrested, processed and jailed until bail can be posted. We highly recommend volunteering to take the breathalyzer test.
- How long is a DUI on your record? – In the state of Florida, a DUI will stay on your record for 75 years. It cannot be expunged from your record, either. A DUI charge will stay with you for your life.
Connect With James Brennan Bail Bonds To Address a Bail Bond Today
When you or a loved one is charged with drunk driving and is facing DUI bail in Clearwater, FL, look no further than James Brennan Bail Bonds. We are the bail bonds company that can help you 24/7. Reach out to us at (727) 531-5000 to get started.